MyMBU

Biochemistry

Biochemistry applies the ideas and theories of chemistry to the complex realm of biological systems. The minor is designed for students who want a strong background in biochemistry to complement their major area of study. Students who are enrolled in pre-professional programs may also find a minor in biochemistry to be helpful to their professional preparation.

  • Assistant Scientist
  • Biochemist
  • Technical Sales Representative
  • Business Process Analyst
  • Research Assistant

B.S. in BIOCHEMISTRY

Students are required to complete 32-38 hours in Biochemistry and Chemistry, 15 hours in Biology and 3 hours in Biotechnology. In addition, they will complete 9 hours of upper division electives: 3-6 from Chemistry and 3-6 from Biology/Biotechnology.

BIOCHEMISTRY MINOR 20-21 Hours

Required Chemistry (CHEM) courses: 17
CHEM 313+312 Organic Chemistry I 5
CHEM 323+322 Organic Chemistry II 5
CHEM 443+441 Biochemistry 4
BCHM 453 Principles of Medicinal Chemistry
OR
BIOT 313 Experimental Biochemistry and Molecular Biology 3

Students must take one elective from the following that has not been applied toward their major:
BCHM 453 Principles of Medicinal Chemistry 3
BIOL 343+341 Genetics 4
BIOL 373+371 Microbiology 4
BIOL 383 Instructional Methods and Problems 3
BIOL 423 Cell Biology 3
BIOL 443 Advanced Human Physiology 3
BIOT 313 Experimental Biochemistry and Molecular Biology 3
CHEM 342+332 Analytical Chemistry 4
CHEM 472+462 Molecular Modeling 4
CHEM 373 Instructional Methods and Problems 3

NOTE: CHEM 143+142, MATH 264, and PHYS 223+221, or their equivalents, are prerequisites for some of the above courses; check the individual course description for details.

Jerry Desse, Natural Sciences Division Chair


Natural Science Chair; Associate Professor of Physics and Mathematics
Contact information:
jerry.desse@mobap.edu

David Collum, Assistant Professor of Natural Sciences


Assistant Professor of Natural Sciences; Data Analyst
Contact information:
david.collum@mobap.edu

Alicia Pate, Assistant Professor of Biology

Assistant Professor of Biology and Biochemistry
Contact information:
alicia.pate@mobap.edu

Mark Sherman, Associate Professor of Biology


Associate Professor of Biology and Biotechnology
Contact information:
mark.sherman@mobap.edu

Shayani Pieris, Assistant Professor of Plant Sciences


Assistant Professor of Plant Sciences
Contact information:
shayani.pieris@mobap.edu

David Smith, Assistant Professor of Mathematics


Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Contact information:
david.smith@mobap.edu

Lydia Thebeau, Dean of Academic Advisement and Allied


Dean of Academic Advisement and Allied Health Initiatives, Professor of Biology
Contact information:
lydia.thebeau@mobap.edu

Mary Vedamuthu, Associate Professor of Chemistry


Associate Professor of Chemistry
Contact information:
mary.vedamuthu@mobap.edu

Craig Walston, Adjunct Instructor of Natural Sciences


Instructor of Natural Sciences; Head Women’s Softball Coach
Contact information:
craig.walston@mobap.edu