MBU Set to Host Historical Society Awards

Missouri Baptist University will host the St. Louis County Historical Society Annual awards presentation Thursday, Oct. 24.

Frank Absher, author of “KMOX – The Voice of St. Louis,” will deliver a short keynote address highlighting aspects of the history of KMOX which made the station a major force in American broadcasting. Absher will also receive the book of the year award by the Historical Society. The annual award honors authors of outstanding books on St. Louis history.

The book by Absher traces the history of KMOX as it has evolved since signing on December 24, 1925. It contains over 150 historic photos, many of which he discovered while serving as the station’s unofficial historian. Absher was an announcer/host on KMOX in the late ‘70s and early ‘80s.

Other awardees honored include Judge Alphonso Voarhees – Henry Sutton Governmental Affairs Award; Rudy Torrini – James Maguire O’Flynn Community Service Award; Dr. Gerald Early – Edward J. Maguire Educator/Research Award; Dr. Jack Luzkow and Dr. Benjamin Moore – William Barnaby Faherty S.J. Award; and Mary Pillsbury Wainwright – Distinguished Volunteer Award.

The University received the Robert F. Hyland Distinguished Service Award in last year’s award ceremony. This will be the seventeenth year for MBU to host the St. Louis County Historical Society Awards ceremony.