fbpx
MyMBU

MBU COVID-19 Statistics


3

Active COVID-19 lab-confirmed cases of individuals–including students, visitors, faculty and staff–who have been on Missouri Baptist University’s main campus and regional learning centers.


214

Cumulative (active and recovered) COVID-19 lab-confirmed cases of individuals–including students, visitors, faculty and staff–who have been on Missouri Baptist University’s main campus and regional learning centers.


COVID-19 Case Reports

DATESTUDENT CASESEMPLOYEE CASES
Tuesday, June 30, 202001
Tuesday, August 18, 202030
Thursday, August 20, 202060
Tuesday, August 25, 202041
Thursday, August 27, 202030
Tuesday, September 1, 202021
Thursday, September 4, 202000
Tuesday, September 8, 202013
Thursday, September 10, 202031
Tuesday, September 15, 2020100
Thursday, September 17, 202061
Tuesday, September 22, 202051
Thursday, September 24, 202000
Tuesday, September 29, 202030
Thursday, October 1, 202021
Tuesday, October 6, 202010
Thursday, October 8, 202010
Tuesday, October 13, 202020
Thursday, October 15, 202000
Tuesday, October 20, 202000
Thursday, October 22, 202010
Tuesday, October 27, 202011
Thursday, October 29, 202010
Tuesday, November 3, 202031
Thursday, November 5, 202034
Tuesday, November 10, 202074
Thursday, November 12, 202051
Tuesday, November 17, 2020109
Thursday, November 19, 202071
Tuesday, November 24, 202072
Thursday, November 26, 202000
Tuesday, December 1, 202003
Thursday, December 3, 202010
Tuesday, December 8, 202014
Thursday, December 10, 202001
Tuesday, December 15, 202001
Thursday, December 17, 202000
Tuesday, December 22, 202000
Thursday, December 24, 202000
Tuesday, December 29, 202000
Thursday, December 31, 202000
Tuesday, January 5, 202100
Thursday, January 7, 202101
Tuesday, January 12, 202110
Thursday, January 14, 202100
Tuesday, January 19, 202130
Thursday, January 21, 202120
Tuesday, January 26, 202161
Thursday, January 28, 202110
Tuesday, February 2, 202191
Thursday, February 4, 202100
Tuesday, February 9, 202150
Thursday, February 11, 202101
Tuesday, February 16, 202110
Thursday, February 18, 202100
Tuesday, February 23, 202100
Thursday, February 25, 202110
Tuesday, March 2, 202141
Thursday, March 4, 202120
Tuesday, March 9, 202121
Thursday, March 11, 202110
Tuesday, March 16, 202100
Thursday, March 18, 202100
Tuesday, March 23, 202100
Friday, March 26, 202130
Monday, March 29, 202121
Monday, April 5, 202150
Thursday, April 8, 202120
Tuesday, April 12, 202110
Thursday, April 15, 202110
Tuesday, April 19, 202120
Thursday, April 22, 202121
Thursday, April 29, 202120
Monday, May 3, 202100

HEALTH SCREENING, TESTING & TREATMENT OPTIONS

Daily health screening combined with testing and treatment options will be paramount to opening safely and keeping community members healthy. The Mercy Clinic will play a vital role in facilitating patient connecting to their hospital and medical system in accordance with American College Health Association Guidelines and bullets below reflect CDC and St. Louis DOPH recommendations and may change at any time.

  • In partnership with local health care providers, all faculty, staff and students (and families who come to campus) will be screened upon arrival this fall. Safety protocols and procedures will be followed based on the health screening.
  • All athletes will follow health screening before meetings, practices, and competitions with their teams. See athletic protocols for additional screening and symptom monitoring protocols pertaining to athletes.
  • The University will require daily health screening by faculty, staff, and students and all community members must comply with the requirement to health screen in order to work or attend class on campus.
    • If an individual begins to feel sick after completing the daily health screening or coming to campus, the individual should re-take the daily health screening and take action as appropriate.
  • The St. Louis Department of Health has criteria for symptomatic individuals that will allow testing for community members who believe they may have contracted the virus. If an individual does not meet the criteria for this testing, Mercy Clinic may determine it is appropriate to test an individual and it will issue instructions to the faculty, staff, or student.
  • Symptom screening, temperature checks and medical treatment will be available to students as needed through the Mercy Hospital system.
  • We will partner with the Mercy Hospital to establish resources specifically for MBU students including telehealth visits, dedicated transition of care, and access to hospitals.
  • We will arrange for availability of flu shots to students, faculty, and staff.
  • Contact-tracing plans will be implemented, as well as isolation and quarantine protocols (including housing). We will provide housing options for quarantine and isolation and connect students to local hospitals for treatment.
  • Over-the-counter medication offerings in the MBU Bookstore will be expanded.
  • COVID-19 leave is provided to employees who test positive, are caring for someone who has tested positive or are in isolation due to exposure. Contact Payroll and Benefits for specific instructions.

REPORTING A COVID-19 POTENTIAL CASE

For individuals who:

1) have experienced signs and symptoms identified in the University’s daily Health Screening that may be related to COVID-19, 

2) have received information that they were in close or direct contact with someone who has received a positive COVID-19 test result or

3) received a positive COVID-19 test result from a medical provider.

Please:

  1. Complete the COVID-19 Tracing Report Form with as many details as you can recall, which will help the University take steps for you and the University community to maintain a healthy and safe environment.
  2. Follow the Quarantine and Isolation instructions in the next section (below).
  3. The University Contact Tracing Team will contact you with information and how to receive approval to return to campus.

QUARANTINE AND ISOLATION

Review symptom monitoring, testing, and screening protocols for additional information. Faculty, staff, or students who are experiencing symptoms as outlined in this document should follow the below protocols.

  • CDC Isolation Definition & Criteria
    • People who have COVID-19
      • People who have symptoms of COVID-19 and are able to recover at home
      • People who have no symptoms (are asymptomatic) but have tested positive for infection with SARS-CoV-2
    • Steps to Take
      • Stay home and monitor your health
        • Stay home for 14 days after your last contact with a person who has COVID-19
        • Watch for fever (100.4◦F), cough, shortness of breath, or other symptoms of COVID-19
        • If possible, stay away others, especially people who are at higher risk for getting very sick from COVID-19
  • CDC Quarantine Definition & Criteria
    • Anyone who has been in close contact with someone who has COVID-19.
      • This includes people who previously had COVID-19 and people who have taken a serologic (antibody) test and have antibodies to the virus.
      • What counts as close contact?
        • You were within 6 feet of someone who has COVID-19 for at least 15 minutes
        • You provided care at home to someone who is sick with COVID-19
        • You had direct physical contact with the person (touched, hugged, or kissed them)
        • You shared eating or drinking utensils
        • They sneezed, coughed, or somehow got respiratory droplets on you
    • Steps to Take
      • Stay home and monitor your health
        • Stay home for 14 days after your last contact with a person who has COVID-19
        • Watch for fever (100.4◦F), cough, shortness of breath, or other symptoms of COVID-19
        • If possible, stay away others, especially people who are at higher risk for getting very sick from COVID-19
  • Faculty, staff, and students who do not reside on campus should stay home until symptom-free, or until they have contacted a health provider to rule out COVID-19, either by test or another condition (e.g. allergies, other illness, testing negative for COVID-19, etc.).
    • Faculty and staff may work remotely where possible upon the approval of their supervisor and absences should be reported through the COVID-19 Contact Tracing Form.
    • Faculty and staff in quarantine due to exposure to COVID-19 will not report to work until they experience 14 days after their last contact with a person who has COVID-19 and you are without symptoms according to CDC Quarantine guidelines listed above. The CDC Quarantine Website provides specific instructions and how to calculate 14 days.
    • Faculty and staff in isolation due to exposure to COVID-19 will not report to work until a negative test has been confirmed or they experience 14 days without symptoms.
    • If the individual demonstrates signs and symptoms or a positive test, refer to section below “Positive COVID-19 Test and Isolation Procedure.”
  • Students in isolation on campus should:
    • Separate from other residents as quickly as possible. Individuals with minor symptoms will be asked to self-isolate. Students with more severe symptoms may be tested for COVID-19 and temporarily relocated to alternate housing.
    • Complete the COVID-19 Contact Tracing Form immediately.
    • Notify Residence Life if they believe they may have contracted COVID-19.
    • Keep track of symptoms in case they become symptomatic of COVID-19 or worsen over time.
    • Follow care instructions from a healthcare provider. Telehealth consultation is available through Mercy health providers and students may make appointments with Mercy health providers through MBU’s Mercy Clinic.
    • Notify faculty and supervisors in order to make alternative arrangements for class and work.
    • Get emergency medical care immediately for the following symptoms:
      • Trouble breathing
      • Persistent pain or pressure in the chest
      • New confusion
      • Inability to wake or stay awake
      • Bluish lips or face
    • Students in isolation due to exposure to COVID-19 will not report to classes or any other University activity until a negative test has been confirmed or they experience 14 days without symptoms.
    • If the individual demonstrates signs and symptoms or a positive test, refer to section below “Positive COVID-19 Test and Quarantine Procedure.”

POSITIVE COVID-19 TEST AND ISOLATION PROCEDURE:

  • If a faculty or staff member contracts COVID-19, they will complete the COVID-19 Tracing Form immediately. The University Contact Tracing Team will conduct contact tracing and connect the individual to appropriate resources related to sick leave and and health care options. Faculty and staff will work with a medical professional to care for their health and quarantine in their home, and will not return to work until cleared by a qualified health professional.  The COVID-19 Contact Tracing Team  will conduct contact tracing and work with the appropriate public health department to ensure anyone who has been exposed is notified of isolation precautions.
  • If a student contracts COVID-19, they should will complete the COVID-19 Tracing Form immediately. MBU will consult with the ill student(s) and with local health officials to determine when, how and where to move ill residents to either temporary housing or recommend going to the hospital for further testing and or treatment. In addition, students will:
  • Be moved to temporary housing locations.
  • Self-isolate in quarantine housing and monitor for symptoms according to the guidance of local health officials.
  • Follow the health directives from the treating health provider and public health agency, to monitor temperature, record symptoms and access emergency medical care if needed.
  • Utilize the private bathroom facilities and other supplies provided in each quarantine room, such as: thermometer, sanitizing wipes, tissues, soap, hand sanitizer and toiletries.
  • Residential students will utilize meal delivery by the Office of Residence Life, and will follow instructions regarding accessing basic necessities.
  • When necessary, students who are directly exposed to COVID-19 may be moved into temporary housing for symptom monitoring and isolation.
  • Faculty, staff, students and visitors must be free of a fever and any symptoms potentially related to COVID-19 by the following CDC criteria to attend class or work:
  • 3 days (72 hours) with no fever AND Respiratory symptoms have improved (e.g. cough, shortness of breath) AND 10 days since symptoms first appeared.
  • Ending Isolation (CDC Guidance)Faculty, staff, students and visitors must be free of a fever and any symptoms potentially related to COVID-19 by the following CDC criteria to attend class or work:
    • I think or know I had COVID-19, and I had symptoms (CDC Video Summary)
      • At least 10 days since symptoms first appeared and
      • At least 24 hours with no fever without fever-reducing medication and
      • Symptoms have improved
      • **Depending on your healthcare provider’s advice and availability of testing, you might get tested to see if you still have COVID-19. If you are tested, you can be around others when you have no fever, respiratory symptoms have improved, and you receive two negative test results in a row, at least 24 hours apart.
    • I tested positive for COVID-19 but had no symptoms (CDC Video Summary)
      • 10 days have passed since test
      • **Depending on your healthcare provider’s advice and availability of testing, you might get tested to see if you still have COVID-19. If you will be tested, you can be around others after you receive two negative test results in a row, at least 24 hours apart.  If you develop symptoms after testing positive, follow the guidance above for “I think or know I had COVID, and I had symptoms.”

Notification of Health Officials and Contact Tracing: In accordance with applicable federal, state and local laws and regulations, MBU will notify health officials at St. Louis County Department of Public Health of faculty, staff and students immediately of any case of COVID-19 while maintaining confidentiality in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and FERPA. MBU will work with St. Louis County Department of Public Health to inform those who have had close contact with a person diagnosed with COVID-19 to stay home or in their living quarters and self-monitor for symptoms, and follow CDC guidance if symptoms develop.