MyMBU

Unified Science

Undergraduate candidates seeking to teach advanced biology or chemistry in high school (grades 9-12) must have a primary major in Unified Science. Students must also select a concentration area in either biology or chemistry, which will constitute a minor.

Applicable degree: Bachelor of Science

IDST 313 History and Philosophy of Science and Technology

BIOL 111 General Biology I Laboratory

BIOL 113 General Biology I

IDST 313 History and Philosophy of Science and Technology

BIOL 111 General Biology I Laboratory

BIOL 113 General Biology I

BIOL 121 General Biology II Laboratory

BIOL 123 General Biology II

CHEM 132L General Chemistry I Laboratory

CHEM 132P General Chemistry I Problem Solving

CHEM 133 General Chemistry I

CHEM 142L General Chemistry II Laboratory

CHEM 142P General Chemistry II Problem Solving

CHEM 143 General Chemistry II

PHYS 211 General Physics I Laboratory

PHYS 213 General Physics I

PHYS 221 General Physics II Laboratory

PHYS 223 General Physics II

PHYS 122 Geology and Earth Science Laboratory

PHYS 123 Geology and Earth Science

PHYS 383 Meteorology

BIOL 321A Environmental Science and Conservation Laboratory

BIOL 323A Environmental Science and Conservation

BIOL 211 Anatomy and Physiology I Laboratory

BIOL 213 Anatomy and Physiology I

BIOL 221 Anatomy and Physiology II Laboratory

BIOL 223 Anatomy and Physiology II

BIOL 371 Microbiology Laboratory

BIOL 373 Microbiology

BIOL 341 Genetics Laboratory

BIOL 343 Genetics

BIOL 423 Cell Biology

BIOL 401 Integrating Concepts of Biology

CHEM 312 Organic Chemistry I Laboratory

CHEM 313 Organic Chemistry I

CHEM 322 Organic Chemistry II Laboratory

CHEM 323 Organic Chemistry II

CHEM 332 Analytic Chemistry Laboratory

CHEM 342 Analytic Chemistry

CHEM 413 Physical Chemistry I

CHEM 441 Biochemistry Laboratory

CHEM 443 Biochemistry

CHEM 452 Modern Instrumental Analysis Laboratory

CHEM 453 Modern Instrumental Analysis

EDUC 210 Field Experience I Seminar

EDCL 211 Teaching Field Experience I

EDPS 383 Psychology of Teaching and Learning

EDUC 213 Foundational Perspectives of Education

EDUC 301 Professional Growth and Portfolio Development

EDUC 303 Methods of Teaching

EDUC 373 Technology and Instructional Media

PSYC 313 Human Growth and Development

PSYC 343 Adolescent Psychology

EDPS 453 The Exceptional Child

EDUC 410 Field Experience II

EDCL 411 Teaching Field Experience II

EDRD 423 Integration of Literacy Instruction and Content Areas

EDUC 401 Professional Growth and Portfolio Development II

ETOP 423 Classroom and Behavior Management

EDUC 313 Curriculum Development for Secondary Education: Seminar and Field Experience

EDMS 483 Teaching Science in Grades 5 - 12: Seminar and Field Experience

ESCL 476 Student Teaching: Secondary School

EDUC 471 Student Teaching Seminar
ral Biology II Laboratory” number=”113″]

BIOL 123 General Biology II

CHEM 132L General Chemistry I Laboratory

CHEM 132P General Chemistry I Problem Solving

CHEM 133 General Chemistry I

CHEM 142L General Chemistry II Laboratory

CHEM 142P General Chemistry II Problem Solving

CHEM 143 General Chemistry II

PHYS 211 General Physics I Laboratory

PHYS 213 General Physics I

PHYS 221 General Physics II Laboratory

PHYS 223 General Physics II

PHYS 122 Geology and Earth Science Laboratory

PHYS 123 Geology and Earth Science

PHYS 383 Meteorology

BIOL 321A Environmental Science and Conservation Laboratory

BIOL 323A Environmental Science and Conservation

BIOL 211 Anatomy and Physiology I Laboratory

BIOL 213 Anatomy and Physiology I

BIOL 221 Anatomy and Physiology II Laboratory

BIOL 223 Anatomy and Physiology II

BIOL 371 Microbiology Laboratory

BIOL 373 Microbiology

BIOL 341 Genetics Laboratory

BIOL 343 Genetics

BIOL 423 Cell Biology

BIOL 401 Integrating Concepts of Biology

CHEM 312 Organic Chemistry I Laboratory

CHEM 313 Organic Chemistry I

CHEM 322 Organic Chemistry II Laboratory

CHEM 323 Organic Chemistry II

CHEM 332 Analytic Chemistry Laboratory

CHEM 342 Analytic Chemistry

CHEM 413 Physical Chemistry I

CHEM 441 Biochemistry Laboratory

CHEM 443 Biochemistry

CHEM 452 Modern Instrumental Analysis Laboratory

CHEM 453 Modern Instrumental Analysis

EDUC 210 Field Experience I Seminar

EDCL 211 Teaching Field Experience I

EDPS 383 Psychology of Teaching and Learning

EDUC 213 Foundational Perspectives of Education

EDUC 301 Professional Growth and Portfolio Development

EDUC 303 Methods of Teaching

EDUC 373 Technology and Instructional Media

PSYC 313 Human Growth and Development

PSYC 343 Adolescent Psychology

EDPS 453 The Exceptional Child

EDUC 410 Field Experience II

EDCL 411 Teaching Field Experience II

EDRD 423 Integration of Literacy Instruction and Content Areas

EDUC 401 Professional Growth and Portfolio Development II

ETOP 423 Classroom and Behavior Management

EDUC 313 Curriculum Development for Secondary Education: Seminar and Field Experience

EDMS 483 Teaching Science in Grades 5 - 12: Seminar and Field Experience

ESCL 476 Student Teaching: Secondary School

EDUC 471 Student Teaching Seminar

All degree plans reflect the new Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) certification rules which take effect August 1, 2017. Candidates able to complete all requirements for graduation and certification by July 31, 2017, may opt to finish under the outgoing compendium requirements.

Ms. Kathleen C. Wendt
Director of Teacher Certification Advising
Office: FLD-312
Phone: 314-392-2324
Email: kathleen.wendt@mobap.edu

Mrs. Ricki Roth
Undergraduate Education Advisor
Office: FLD-349
Phone: 314-744-7656
Email:  ricki.roth@mobap.edu

Melanie Bishop, Ed.D


Dean, Education Division; Associate Professor of Education
314-392-2323
melanie.bishop@mobap.edu

Paula Bennett, M.A.


Associate Professor of Communications
314-744-5350
paula.bennett@mobap.edu

Mary Ann Bouas, Ed.S.


Assistant Professor; Education Division Scheduling Coordinator; Undergraduate Advisor
314-392-2388
Maryann.bouas@mobap.edu

Holly Brand, Ph.D.


Associate Professor of Psychology
314-392-2306
holly.brand@mobap.edu

Sheri Brandt, Ed.D.


Assistant Professor; Dean of Troy/Wentzville RLC
636.366.4363
sheri.brandt@mobap.edu

James Chellew, M.A.


Site Coordinator, MBU in Arnold Regional Learning Center; Assistant Professor of Education
636-481-3559
james.chellew@mobap.edu

David Collum, Ed.D.


Assistant Professor of Natural Sciences; Data Analyst; Director of Assessment
314-485-8446
David.collum@mobap.edu

Tammy Cox


Assistant Professor, Director of Teacher Education
314-744-7694
tammy.cox@mobap.edu

Mary Ann Conaway, Ph.D.


Professor of Education; Director of Graduate Counseling
314-392-2332
maryann.conaway@mobap.edu

Tonia Crane, Ph.D.


Associate Professor of Education
314-485-8486
tonia.crane@mobap.edu

Tim Delicath, Ph.D.


Associate Professor of Educational Research
314-485-8438
tim.delicath@mobap.edu

Diane Denney, Ph.D.


Professor of Education; Director of Special Education
314-308-0210
Diane.denney@mobpa.edu

Mark Engelhardt, Ph.D.


Professor of Education
314-744-5339
mark.engelhardt@mobap.edu

Amber Henry, Ed.D.


Professor of Education, Dean Jefferson County and Farmington Regional Learning Centers
573-431-9700
amber.henry@mobap.edu

Edward Hillhouse, Ed.D.


Professor of Education; Dean, Franklin County Regional Learning Center
636-257-5042
edward.hillhouse@mobap.edu

Susan K. Hladky, Ed.D.


Assistant Professor of Education; Director of Field Experience
314-485-8469
susank.hladky@mobap.edu

Clint Limoges


Assistant Professor Counseling
314-392-2379
clint.limoges@mobap.edu

Alicia Noddings, Ed.D.


Assistant Dean, Education Division; Assistant Professor; Director of Early Childhood & Early Childhood Special Education
alicia.noddings@mobap.edu

Lowell Pitzer, M.A.


Coordinator of Physical and Health Education Programs; Assistant Professor of Education
314-392-2317
lowell.pitzer@mobap.edu

Laura Rauscher, Ph.D.


Assistant Professor of Education and Counseling
314-485-8464
laura.rauscher@mobap.edu

Larry Richardson, M.S.Ed.


Coordinator of Graduate Advising; Instructor of Human Services and Counseling
314-744-7654
larry.richardson@mobap.edu

Julia Schroeder, Ph.D.


Professor of Education and Natural Sciences; Dean – Southern Illinois Regional Learning Centers
618-985-3741, ext. 8114
julia.schroeder@mobap.edu

Shelton Smith. Ed.D.


Director of K-12 Educational Leadership Programs; Professor of Education
314-485-8452
shelton.smith@mobap.edu

Thomas M. Smith, Ed.D.


Associate Vice President and Director of Athletics; Professor of Education/Health and Sport Sciences
314-392-2264
thomas.smith@mobap.edu

C. Scully Stikes, Ph.D.


Professor of Counseling and Sociology
314-744-5329
scully.stikes@mobap.edu

Marsha Tierney, M.S.


Site Coordinator, Franklin County Regional Learning Center; Assistant Professor of Education
573-468-3719
marsha.tierney@mobap.edu

C. Clark Triplett, Ph.D.


Vice President for Graduate Studies and Academic Program Review; Acting Director of the Doctor of Education in Higher Education Leadership; Professor of Psychology and Sociology 
314-392-2221
clark.triplett@mobap.edu

Christine Ward


Assistant Professor Counseling
christine.ward@mobap.edu
314-392-2338